In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people have been using the internet into every aspect of life such as shopping, working and communication. Therefore, the number of face-to-face interactions among residents can decrease. In my view, the internet can make modern life more convenient in some ways, and I believe that this trend is a positive advancement.

On the one hand, the internet has really made communication easier. First of all, it deletes the concept of geographical distance. Instead of having to gather one place to direct contact, people can talk together at any time and anywhere in the world. Secondly, most of the companies have been applying the internet in their workplace. This helps boost their employees work productivity and reduce expenses like commuting costs, printed documents. In the economic context, inhabitants more and more tend to use the internet to make online buying activities due to the convenience it brings. Take the North American as an example, about 70% of the population in there shopping online in 2017. In addition, purchasing through the internet also encourages people spending more thereby promoting economic growth. According to Ecommerce Foundation's Global Ecommerce Report in 2017. If in 2014, on average, global shoppers spent only US $ 1,228 per year on e-commerce sites, by 2017 this number had grown to US $ 1,425 on average per year, increased by 7.4% compared to 2016.

However, going along with the benefits of the internet are its negative effects that we need to consider. We are losing face to face interactions that are deemed extremely important in this technological era. Children hardly spend time talking to their parents because they are very busy to surf Facebook and virtual relationships. Today, we can easily see the image of young people plugging their face into their phones to surf Facebook or selfies posted on Twitter with tremendous frequency instead of having conversations as they did before the advent of smart devices. As a result, this trend will turn people into insensitive people with real-life relationships.

In conclusion, the influence of the internet on many aspects of our lives is remarkable. Although it is inflicting serve damage to our relationships, the benefits that it generates being enormous profits for the society and economy of a country.