In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others.

Is it a positive or negative development in your opinion?

These days, with the development of information technology, it is undeniable that shopping, working, and communicating with people via the Internet are more convenient than face-to-face communication. People believe that it is unnecessary to live in traditional ways. In my opinion, this modification can lead to several negative effects for the following reasons.

On the first hand, shopping, working and communicating online are convenient and save time for people. People may have more time to do whatever they want. For example, instead of taking time for an hour at the shop just to buy small items, customers can stay at the home, office, or anywhere and use their technological devices to order merchandise. Moreover, doing something online via the internet can help citizens to avoid unexpected accidents, such as heavy traffic. Therefore, it is undeniable that online working, shopping, and communicating are necessary for people.

On the other hand, there are also a lot of disadvantages that online can cause. Working and communicating online will limit the connection between people. It is crucial for employees in the same organization to understand and interact well with each other. One of the biggest drawbacks of connection through the Internet is a misunderstanding in conversation. It is hard for people to know truly the meaning of the message. Maybe the employers just want to express their comments regularly, but the employer may read them in a bad way. Consequently, the relationship between them is going to be broken. Hence, it is not good to work or communicate with each other fully through the Internet.

In terms of shopping, buying on the website will limit the ability for buyers to try on clothes and check out the quality of goods. While it is hard for buyers to know whether those clothes fit them or not, sellers have no way to show the buyers how good the service of the shop is. The loyalty of customers is based on several factors, in which offline service is one of the factors. So, only online shopping is difficult for both sides to express clearly and well their desire.

In conclusion, it is not a good choice for people to 100% shop, work, and communicate online. Although it seems to be convenient and save time, it includes many drawbacks that people cannot fully comprehend.