Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many today feel that countries should prioritise vocational training over higher education due to changes in the labour market. In my opinion, though there are strong economic reasons to support this idea, university education holds greater value.

Those in favour of more practical skills training point out the financial benefits. Most university graduates are burdened with student debt and face uncertain job prospects. In contrast, training schools are cheap, fast, and ease students into steady employment immediately. The jobs they train for are also most likely recession-proof and durable, including positions as cooks, hotel managers, and skilled technicians. Someone who is firmly established in such a job in their early 20s does not have to deal with the pressures associated with university life and its incumbent debts. Instead, they can begin to set aside money for a house or start a family.

Nonetheless, lacking a university degree limits one’s options. The jobs available will pay well initially and be secure but offer narrow scope for advancement and virtually no opportunity to switch career paths. An individual with a university degree, on the other hand, might begin from a lower position but has a higher ceiling on future earnings. It is also possible for them to explore a variety of fields. Most good jobs require at least a bachelor’s degree even for simple internship vacancies. Lacking such a degree, means restricting oneself to manual labour or service industry jobs. The actual learning that takes place at university, particularly for those with multi-disciplinary majors or studying at liberal arts schools, also encourages students to consider a wide range of possible career options.

In conclusion, increasing funding for vocational training is an attractive yet short-sighted approach that curbs possibilities. Governments ought to continue to support higher education even in dark economic times in order to reap future rewards.