Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work rather than on university education To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are growing concerns about spending money for education. While some people argue that vocational education should be funded more than higher education, I completely disagree because vocational schools do not give students a bright future compared to universities.

On the one hand, there will be some drawbacks if governments turn their intentions most on skills training. First, a skills trainning course will merely show people how to do a job but it does not include any scientific theory, so learners woudn’t understand fully. Second, if the governments invests more in vocational training than university education, it will create a labor force with only manual skills . Therefore, the prospects that people will move up the career ladder is not realistic.

On the other hand, a university education will give students higher education. After graduating, students can continue their education and apply for a Master or PhD Degree, which provides the basis to be elite scientists. The university environment also facilitates more and more innovations for the future due to remarkable research. Moreover, university students have taught a lot of practical skills about their job in the future as well. For example, a pharmacist leaving unversity will have not only the practical skills but also the capability to study academic research. At universities, students do not study only theory for jobs but they get practice in a variety of soft skills such as leadership and time management that results in landing a high salary job.

In conclusion, although we need blue collar workers such as electricians, auto mechanics and plumbers, we need highly educated, elite scientists more. Therefore, I believe that there must be more investment in universities.