Some people believe that children should do organised activities in their free time while others believe that children should be free to do what they want to do in their free time Discuss both views and give your opinion

The utilization of free time by children has been a topic of discussion for quite a long time, and still there exists controversy regarding the topic. While some feel that they should be engaged in organized activities, others think they should be let free completely. Both views have their own significance, and hence a detailed discussion is needed before framing a logical conclusion.

On the one hand, the former group highlights the importance of systematic growth and development of both body and mind when children are made engaged in organized activities at their free time. To be precise, such activities are designed in such a way that it suits the physical, mental and even emotional development of a child. For example, the duration, type and rules of organized activities help children to grow up in a highly-systematic manner. This also helps them to develop emotional maturity and to understand the balance between competition and co-operation in life.

On the other hand, there are people who feel that children should have their own freedom in choosing their activities when they get free time. They believe so because the attitudes and interests of each child would not be always similar. For instance, some children find it interesting to dance, while some prefer to play puzzles when they are free. It is necessary to allow them to explore their hidden talents and shape their interests in the best possible way. This would help children to gain confidence and to enjoy a sort of independence in their life.

After analysing both views in detail, as children benefit from both the circumstances, I feel they should experience both and gain the best out of these. However, whatsoever the activity is, it should be properly supervised.