New parents should attend parenting class to bring up their children well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people believe that new mothers and fathers should attend training sessions to enhance their parenting skills. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty about the merits or demerits of this situation. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, participating in parenting classes can be beneficial since most young married people, especially in China, lack experience of handling new babies, and formal training may be an effective and comprehensive approach for them to acquire the necessary skills. Moreover, people attending such sessions can make new friends and share their experiences, which provides more opportunities for them to gain a fuller picture of the parenting process. In addition, a structured introduction to the art of raising a family could set aside misconceptions and old wives’ tales, and enable young mothers and fathers to take a fresh and enlightened approach to guiding their offspring’s mental and physical development .

On the other hand, critics would argue that classes are redundant, since parenting is a natural and instinctive process which has existed without formal education since time immemorial. Moreover, there is an increasing tendency for universities, especially in Western countries, to produce “sociologists” who believe they know better than ordinary people about family life, and being “trained” in parenting by such people could be intrusive and even harmful to a new family. In addition, on a more practical level, given today’s competitive economic environment, finding the opportunity to attend such training is a luxury few working mothers and fathers can afford.

To summarize, there is no doubt that parenting classes could be helpful to some people, and possibly even reduce dysfunctionality in certain families. At the same time, however, caring for one’s children is a natural instinct, and training is by no means essential. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that, if people have the luxury of time and money to attend a class, and it makes them feel better about being a parent, then why not?