new technologies have changed the way for children to spend their free time. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Whilst the advanced technology is revolutionizing the leisure life of the youth, I believe that we should pay more attention to the drawbacks of the phenomenon in terms of its detrimental effects on children's personality development and behaviour

Superficially, it cannot be alienated that the entertainment and social life of children have been diversified thanks to the appearance of new technologies such as computers and the Internet. For example, living in a world connected by the ubiquitous Internet, children are now able to make new friends with peers at any corner of the world just by a few clicks. Next to that, it is undeniable that children acquire sets of useful skills from video games which help them to succeed in life and future careers

Hower, beyond these seemingly benefits, there are potential risks of this technical trend. Firstly, the virtual world isolates young people from the real world, causing them to be alienated from friends and family relatives in real life. Moreover, the trend results in numerous physical as well as psychologial problems among young people such as depression, indifference, etc. Apart from that, it is impossible to ignore the mass of obscene content on the internet that can seriously affect the children's minds negatively. Being exposed to these materials, children are prone to imitate the behaviours which can lead to unforeseeable consequences. Last but not least, these forms of entertainment is highly addictive since these platforms are constructed by algorithms that cause people to be engrossed in them. Being addicted to these entertanment platforms leads to drastic consequences in mental and physical well-being.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of the trend outweigh the advantages, and it is crucial that more attention should be paid on the negative influence on the next generation inflicted by new technologies