New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is often much debate around the fact that the appearance of new technologies have affected the way children spend their spare time. In my opinion, while I understand that this trend may have some benefits, I strongly believe that its drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, it is said that the advanced technologies have some noteworthy positive effects on the activities of children in their free time. The first one is that youngsters now are allowed to use many technological gadgets such as smartphones and computers, which leads to the plethora of available sources of information. This could give rise to the situation where children are able to update news and gain knowledge so that they can widen their horizons as well as contribute to globalization due to social media developing rapidly on technology devices. Another benefit could be that children spend their free time not only for getting information but also playing video games to enhance their imagination, creativity and problem-solving skills. This can be seen in many games that permit the users to build their own world or some simulation games that bring about real-life experience for them.

On the other hand, despite these attractions, several drawbacks do exist. The first adverse impact is that spending free time using technologies, children can live a sedentary life, which poses a tremendous influence on their physical and mental health. A prime example of this is the increasing rates in obesity and problems with eye-sight of the young since they spend an excessive amount of free time staying in front of the screens without exercises or playing sports. The second detriment would be mentioned is that children may ignore the significance of real interactions. The implication for this is as opposed to hanging out with friends to get outdoor activities or talking personal stories with family, children just focus on technologies, which can weaken the communication and interpersonal skills affecting the future relationships.

Taking everything into consideration, I reaffirm my conviction that although modern technologies can have positive values for children in their free time, I believe that the disadvantages are greater than advantages with reasons regarding health and poor social skills.