News media’s tendency to report problems and emergencies rather than positive development is harmful to individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At a time when a global pandemic has cast dark clouds over nearly all facets of life, reading daily news has often turned into a depressing affair. I would argue, however, that much of this pessimism is unfounded and that consuming an overabundance of negative news bodes differently for individuals and society.

On an individual level, reading disproportionate coverage of social ills risks being misled. Since the nature of much journalism is to surprise and sensationalize, inattention to this fact may skew one’s perception of reality. Indeed, while long-term social and scientific progress has been apparent on almost every measurement index, one can hardly discover this watching the evening news. As Steven Pinker has observed, too little appreciation has gone into the strides humanity made over the past century in areas ranging from scientific innovation to gender equality. Instead, much easier to recall is news anchors and columnists ruing the decline of social mores or the rise of a materialist culture. Some of this is unsurprising, as gaping inequality and lurid crimes generally attract more popular attention than do obscure acts of good Samaritanism. Yet reliable exposure to this cycle of negativity comes at a price: not only does it cheapen online discourse and fuel polarization, a sense of proportion and perspective may also be lost on netizens.

On a societal level, the overall verdict must be that news outlets have done more good than harm in the way they report critical social issues. One need look no further than the fruits of investigative journalism to grasp how exposure of power and wealth corruption has held evildoers accountable. Without breakout stories bringing to light how Harvey Weinstein abused his position of privilege and power, the erstwhile Hollywood mogul might well have extended his career in debauchery. Dating further back, the journalistic and literary works of Progressive-era muckrakers prompted reforms that protected consumers and workers from the greed of industrialism. Although detractors may argue how this newspaper has every so often gone overboard with its reporting, or that citizen journalist produces fake or low-quality coverage, it amounts to throwing the baby out with the bathwater denying the capacity of the press to do good. While valid concerns exist over news media’s imperfections, the solution lies in being discerning in one’s choice of news rather than censoring what should always be an independent press.

In conclusion, the notion that print journalism, cable networks, and online sources are all inimical to the interests of individuals and society amounts to a hasty overgeneralization. To the contrary, while individuals may lose their bearings on the reality of life, society has long profited from the press speaking truth to power.