Newspapers are having enormous influence on people's ideas and opinions. Why is this the case? Is is a positive or negative development?

It is true that newspapers are becoming a part of our life and having a profound impact on people’s viewpoints. There could be several reasons for this phenomenon, and I would consider it to be a both positive and negative issue.

There are mainly two reasons why papers have an extremely significant influence on the public. Firstly, reading newspapers has become an indispensable habit for many, especially adults and older people. Newspapers were the only media by which people could get the latest news in the past, as there were no new media like television or smartphone. Therefore, newspapers have a large number of readers, making itself have a significant impact on the public. Another reason is the globalisation. To find new business opportunities or keep up with the changing world, people have to read newspapers to get informed of the global affairs and social issues. Gradually, people are shaped by the viewpoints and articles in the newsletters they read.

On the one hand, newspapers could have some positive impact on the public. Papers can inform the public of what is happening around the world, playing an essential role of information media. Besides, some positive reports or news stories, like medical staffs’ voluntary work in places where pandemic happens, will inspire us to lead a better life. On the other hand, miserable articles would result in public’s pessimistic and gloomy opinion towards life. War, crimes, tragedies, accidents, human sufferings happen every day and occupy the papers. The Constant exposure to these reports will desensitise people, make become cynical, and even lose hope to pursue a better society.

In conclusion, the large amount of readers and globalisation lead to the considerable power newspaper possess, and there are both flows and merits in this development.