New technologies change the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of these changes outweigh the disadvantages?

New technologies are indeed changing every aspect of our daily life, including the way children spent their spare time. Although I agree that these changes might have certain advantages for children, I believe there are more flaws than merits.

Admittedly, the advantages of new technologies for children are undeniable. By a quick flick on the apple store, we could find plenty of educational applications, which gain children’s knowledge and widen their horizon. Moreover, new technologies help children improve their social skills. With the soar of social network users, children are allowed to talk to others at any time in any locations, which trains interpersonal communication skills. Finally, children can get closer to their friends or parents by playing motion-sensing games together in their free time.

However, I would argue that these are only some narrow views, and for children, there are more disadvantages of new technologies. First of all, new technologies destroy teenagers’ physical health, especially eyesight. There is no more convincing example of the myopia rates in China. After new technologies gained their popularity, many children have become addicted to smartphones and video games. As a result, the myopia rates in school increased significantly. Second, new technologies have negative impacts on children’s mentality. In that I mean, with the lack of rigorous supervision and rules, so available videos and games with violent and erotic contents are for kids, which is likely to ruin children’s pureness and innocence. Finally, without the mature consciousness of self-protection, children might be allured by the crooks on the social network, and thus meet them in real-world, which put themselves into danger.

In conclusion, while new technologies certainly have positive impacts on children, I believe the advantages cannot outweigh disadvantages.