Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that money would do better on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is pointless to spend time and money on protecting wild animals, and the money should be spent on people who are suffering. I totally disagree with this opinion.

The protection of wild animals can promote biodiversity and help maintain a healthy ecosystem. Biodiversity is essential for a healthy and functional ecosystem, and the continuous extinction of animals is a blow to biodiversity, which will gradually lead to a disturbed ecosystem. As a result, natural disasters would happen and harm human beings. For example, there a wide diversity of species in tropical rainforests. If any species dies out, food chains will get destroyed, which might lead to the extinction of other animals. Eventually, human beings will be affected because residents there rely on those animals as food recourses.

Moreover, the protection of wildlife indirectly brings benefits to the community. There is no more convincing example of wildlife reserves. Although the aim of any natural reserves is protecting animals, it could improve the environment and relieve the pollution. As planets keep conducting photosynthesis, carbon dioxide is being transformed into oxygen, acid is being resolved, and toxic substance is being decomposed. On top of that, the protection of wildlife could create jobs, helping solve the unemployment. For example, there will be a considerable need for animal keepers and guiders in zoos and ocean parks, reserver protectors in natural reserves, researchers in institutes. Finally, zoos and safaris attract large amounts of visitors, and part of the incomes from which is given to governments as tax. This stable income could be spent on constructing a prosperous community and improving residents’ life quality.

In conclusion, I totally disagree with the opinion that too much time and money have been wasted on the protection of animals. On the contrary, we human beings are benefited from it either directly or indirectly.