Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With science and technology develops at breakneck speed, cars have become the most fundamental transportation. However, there is a debate over whether there will be fewer cars in twenty years. Some people air the opinion that there will be more cars in 20 years, but I hold the opposite opinion for the following reasons.

First, the growing environmental consciousness will lead to less use of cars in the future. Suffering from the air or noisy pollutions resulted from cars, More people are becoming aware of the importance of protecting the environment. Public transportation, including bus and underground, rather than vehicle cars, is becoming people’s first choice. For example, before, no matter sending me to school or going to work, my parents always used vehicles when needing to go outside. Nonetheless, after seeing the severe environmental problems caused by cars, my parents now favor public transportations more. Moreover, they nearly never use the cars, but only in some emergencies recently. My mother even sold one of the cars last year because we did not use it frequently. Therefore, I believe there are fewer cars in the future.

Second, the additional costs to maintain a car keep increasing, which will result in that fewer cars being used. With a new concept that sharing a car with others appears and gains popularity, more people choose to use car-sharing services like Uber to go outside, instead of driving by themselves. My friend Susan is a convincing example of this agreement. She has calculated the enormous costs of maintaining a car before. Besides the payment of the car, she spent more than 5,000 dollars a year in oils, insurances, tolls, and maintenance fees. However, after selling the car, it only cost her 2k dollar a year to use Uber and public transportation.

Moreover, the car-sharing service brings great convenience and saves time. You are also allowed to change the car you ride every day. With the increasing oil price and popularity of car-sharing services, the number of cars will decrease in 20 years.

Admittedly, in some developing countries, the lack and poor state of public transportation force people to use cars. Notwithstanding, with the finical supports provided by governments, this problem will get solved eventually, and transportation systems in remote areas will be improved. Therefore, I still stick to the point that in twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.