Newspapers are less important nowadays because we have up-to-date access to the news on the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is thought by some people that we are living in the era of 4.0 technology and we approach to pop-up news everyday, so newspapers will become not crucial as they used to be. While I agree that technology will become more and more vital when finding the information immediately, I believe that newspapers are equally important.

On the one hand, I agree that the Internet is likely to become popular for a variety of reasons. The main reason is that it allows us much faster access to news in real time and wherever we are, on different gadgets and mobile devices. Another key benefit of online news compared to newspapers is the ability to share articles, discuss them with other people, give our views, and even contribute with our own updates on social media. For instance, there has been an explosion in the use of platforms like Facebook and YouTube where anyone can share their news and views. A final point is that this source of news is less damaging to the environment.

Nevertheless, I believe that newspapers still continue to be a vital source of information, even in the Internet age. Firstly, newspapers are the most traditional means of communicating the news, and not everyone wants to or is able to use the Internet instead. For example, old people or those in rural areas might not have the ability or opportunity to get online, while many of us simply prefer newspapers even if we do have Internet access. Secondly, newspapers can be trusted as reliable sources of news because they employ professional journalists and editors. Finally, many people like the experience of holding and reading a paper rather than looking at a computer screen.

In conclusion, while technology become more and more crucial and approachable for people to read breaking news, I do not believe that newspapers will be equally important.