Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the past decade,animal testing has become a prevalent and publicly recognized phenomenon. Although this may bring several upsides for humanity, the returns are highly unjustifiable.

On one hand, there is no denying that testing animals benefits mankind. People can avoid some severe threats thanks to lab animals. In practice, before being introduced to the public, drug as well as cosmetic production are initiated on mammals along with primates first to pinpoint potential dangers to people’s usage. What’s more, animals seem to be perceived as stupid and savage so that they should not be treated as non-human persons. Consequently, mankind who have already dominated the world should have the privilege to take advantage of animals.

On the other hand, animal experimentation is morally unacceptable on account of animals’ cognitive capacity and emotional sophistication. Some studies carried out recently show that animals are capable of communicating with their herds, some of them even have complex nervous systems like humans. Take dolphins as a significant example, dolphins communicate mainly by pulsed sounds described as barks, whistles, etc. Some kinds of dolphins even reach the intelligence level of a three-year-old child. Some birds are proven to be able to connect with their neighboring animals. In terms of emotions, polar bears have been observed by several scientists and are confirmed to have thought-out behaviors. In particular, they can display their frustration when they miss out on a kill or even form close relationships with their owners. Besides, with the technological innovations which likely examine directly on cells, the test on the whole body of animals seems to become less effective and time-consuming.

For the reasons mentioned above, it is clearly morally repugnant to mistreat animals by implementing experiments on them. Global scientists should discover more new means of experiments to replace animal testing.