Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development

In contemporary society, it is noticeable that there is an income disparity between well-known people in the entertainment business and those who work for legislative service. This gap can be explained by their distinctive sources of income, and in my opinion, it results in disadvantages for society’s development.

To commence with, the income difference comes from the fact that celebrities can derive income from diversified sources while politicians’s salary depends on the quite tight state budget. Indeed, celebrities make money not only from their primary professions but also from lucrative endorsement deals with corporate giants. To illustrate, apart from film casting compensation, internationally popular actors or actresses amass substantial wealth through ambassador agreements with major fashion brands like Channel, and Louis Vuitton. By contrast, people working in national organizations rely on fixed salaries and are constrained by their roles in the political arena, which seldom intersect with the commercial world. Politicians are generally banned from cultivating commercial connections with corporations to avoid the abuse of power leading to their limited income packages.

From my perspective, the pay gap between celebrities and politicians brings advantages to social mobility. In terms of the economy, while receiving various sources of income, well-known people in the entertainment industry contribute more greatly than officials to the GDP index of each nation. To be more specific, their reputation enhances the brand awareness of the corporations that they represent and even creates a consumption trend that results in a great sales increase. Moreover, from the social aspect, many wealthy celebrities use some of their earnings for charities and take part in social campaigns where their speeches can help to appeal the public awareness, creating a better society. For instance, Emma Watson actress working as a UN Women's Goodwill Ambassador, has inspired millions of women around the world with her impressive speeches about gender equality, and also has made an enormous contribution of both money and effort to the UN organization fighting for women's rights.

In conclusion, the fact that celebrities use multiple channels to increase their wealth while politicians heavily rely on their state-sponsored salary causes a wealth gap between them. However, I evaluate this trend as positive because of the worth-mentioning contribution of celebrities to economic development and social welfare.