Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In modern society, a huge number of people suffering from health issues are trying alternative medicines and treatments in place of visiting clinics. I utterly disagree with this point of view and from my perspective, this is a negative development.

To commence with, it has been widely demonstrated that employing alternative medicines may have detrimental effects on people’s health in the light of arising serious consequences tied to the component of medicines. In effect, there are numerous unexpected occurrences such as allergies to antibiotic medicines. As a result, if people use medicine without prescription, negative effects may emerge. To illustrate, take my parents for instance, about five months ago, they felt absolutely tired and coughed, then they employed a kind of antibiotic medicine in the hope of improving their health. Consequently, they had to be hospitalized for one week because of an allergy to this medicine.

On the other hand, using alternative medicine or treatment may save time or money but it is truly correct in the case of an illness that is not serious. For instance, a survey conducted reveals that a large number of inhabitants using medicines that are not designed for is because they do not go to the hospital, taking a great deal of their time and having to wait for a long time. Additionally, they will have to incur a prohibitive cost. As a result, this is a persuasive reason why they may tend to employ alternative medicines or treatments.

In conclusion, in my opinion, this is a negative development when city-dwellers may prefer using alternatives rather than visiting the clinics.