Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, more and more unwell people have begun to adopt alternative medicines and treatments. In my opinion, although these can sometimes be effective, the trend is generally negative due to the superiority and specificity of modern medicine.

Advocates of alternatives argue that there is historical evidence to support their effectiveness. A pertinent example of this is the popularity of traditional Chinese medicine in Asia. Many medicines and their treatments date back hundreds, even thousands of years. During that time, they have been tested and their effectiveness verified in a number of cases. Later contemporary health researchers are often able to identify the scientific basis, but there may be remedies in use today that we still do not understand. Just like we use some generic drugs to treat similar diseases such as headaches, fatigue, sickness, etc. This lack of understanding should not be used as a reason to question their overall importance.

However, the majority of possible medical treatments are modern. Scientists now better understand the basic structure of cells, viruses, bacteria, cancer and many other diseases. This has enabled the creation of undeniably effective methods such as surgery and the discovery of important drugs such as penicillin. There is no doubt as to why these drugs work and therefore in the future they will only become more refined and safer. In contrast, traditional medicine and alternative drugs may have effects of unknown cause but their applicability is limited and cannot progress over time.

In conclusion, with some exceptions, traditional medicine is also a better alternative to less proven treatments and pharmaceuticals. Patients can try to use them but should also rely on their doctor’s instructions and recommendations