Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, due to the fast means of transportation and communication, the world is more connected. Every year a large number of people travel overseas either for vacation or for business, and sometimes to see their family. The continued growing international tourism is certainly beneficial to boost economic activities. Although there are some negative cultural aspects, I find it hard to agree that it creates more conflicts and misunderstanding than friendship.

To begin with, the tourism industry is one of the fastest growing business with a diverse impact. On the one hand, it promotes many businesses and employment and on the other, a large number of people from different cultural backgrounds are met face to face during the visit. Though, their belief and thought are varied, in most of the cases they start communication, interact positively, and share their ideas and experiences and ended up with friendship. Moreover, travelers and local people go along together quickly as it is beneficial for both. Secondly, the visitors can read and understand the culture and custom of the country before they make a trip. As long as tourists understand and respect the local customs and local people of the host country, there is less likely of happening any tussle or tension. Additionally, people of the host country are also well aware of the economic benefits of tourism, and so in many cases, they tend to be more flexible with visitors expectations and needs. Finally, the public authorities of a tourist area are also very careful to provide comfort, security and harmonious environment.

On the other side, the misunderstanding may arise from poor communication as a result of language barriers and different understanding levels. In addition to that, bad intended or ill-minded people from both tourists and hosts, who trying to rob or cheat, and creating terror could also cause tension. However, these are not major issues and could be addressed with a better security system and well-trained tourist guides.

In conclusion, the benefits of the tourism industry are enormous and they are sufficient to outweigh the negative impacts. As long as, there are mutual respect and clear communication, the misunderstandings are less likely to happen.