Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different countries. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

The past 50 years have seen a considerable increase in global tourism. Despite undeniable benefits it has brought about, I firmly believe that its drawbacks would eclipse.

It is often argued that travelling would widen traveler’s horizon but whether a short period of holiday-time could make sense has not been proven. I would argue that the insufficiency of a full and proper analysis of something could lead to severe misunderstanding between people from different countries. For example, a tourist spending only one week on holiday in the Middle East region could mistakenly concede that the veiling of women there is strictly regulated and relate it to gender discrimination.

Despite the irrefutable economic prosperity host countries could obtain, the influx of foreign holiday-makers often associate with negative aspects of their culture. This is because developing countries such as Vietnam and Thailand would be the favorite playgrounds of tourists from more affluent ones, which tends to export iconic problems such as prostitution, alcoholism as well as drug abuse. Therefore, if countries playing as hosts do not take enough preventative measures, their own culture will suffer from the risk of moral decadence. Even more disturbing is the environmental degradation that international tourism has caused to many parts of the world as the countless of garbage are dumped directly into the ocean on a yearly basis.

Granted, international tourism is of paramount importance in fostering understanding and tolerance among countries. However, this assumption still lies in theory while the tension it creates is hardly arguable.

By way of conclusion, the challenges presented by booming global holiday are numerous and complex, most serious among which are misunderstanding and evil problems involved.