Nowadays, it is more convenient and easier for people to travel to other countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, the increasing number of people chose foreign countries as their travel destinations. To the best of my knowledge, this point of view is reasonable for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is note-worthy that this phenomenon contributes significantly to promote culture exchange. Nowadays, many studies have shown that although it is invisible, engaging in other cultures is a strategic approach to learn about cultural differences. Therefore, it will be a grave mistake to overlook the fact that the increased convenience of international travel is proportional to the growth of exploring cultural diversity. For example, in the past the Arabians used to consider westerners as their foes because of different religious beliefs. However, thanks to higher interaction in various social aspects including tourism, now they have good relations in many fields. This example is the illustration of the fact that the rapid growth of international travel has chronic positive effects on different cultural backgrounds.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by opponents to this is that traveling foreign countries has negative impacts on environment, because airplanes are huge producers of carbon-dioxide and many unconscious tourists intentionally do harm to nature. This argument could be true to some extent; however, it is incomplete. What they fail to take into account is the fact that by replacing old engines with cleaner and more modern ones, people can reduce the environmental influence of the flight. Moreover, governments can minimize the destructive effects on local habitats by strict punishments. For instance, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, Singapore, where international travel is one of the top tourism platforms, has severe punishments for citizens and tourists to protect the environment.

In conclusion, the convenience of traveling abroad is generally a positive trend as mentioned above.