The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages outweigh this advantage?

With globalization accelerating at a rapid pace, there have been growing calls to have only one global government on the basis that it would motivate countries to pool resources together to resolve shared issues. However, I disagree with this notion since such advantages will be dwarfed by the disadvantages, the biggest of which is the potential abuse of power that could be exercised by influential nations.

The biggest advantage of forming such a government would be that it could encourage member countries to contribute collectively to solve common problems. A global government would be able to act faster in solving issues efficiently since they would have more resources at their disposal. For example, members of the European Union were asked to cooperate in tackling the Syrian refugee crisis of the last decade. Using their collective political and material resources, the European Union was able to house and integrate millions of refugees into its constituent members’ societies, providing much needed safety for a vulnerable population from their war-torn homelands.

However, a global government presents the risk of member nations abusing their power to serve their own interests rather than those of the entire world. For instance, in the United Nations, the closest approximation of a global government, nations can exercise their right to block or enact measures that can empower or enrich them or their closest allies, much to the detriment of the world as a whole. For example, two of the UN Security Council’s chief members Russia and China have been accused of exercising their veto power to block new security policies that will challenge their regional power, despite them being genuinely beneficial to the wider world.

In conclusion, the disadvantages of a global government, chief of which is possible rampant abuse of power, are far more substantial than its advantages. Moving forward, countries should retain their national governments, but continue to reach out globally to encourage mutual cooperation.