The efficient functioning of society is based on rules and laws. Society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they want. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Laws and principles are the foundation of modern society. Some people argure that if habitats were able to do anything they want, it is unlikely to uphold an ordered society. From my perspective, I believe that laws and principles are essential to guarantee a stable society.

First of all, rules can remind people of which behaviour is acceptable and which is not. Most people are law-abiding citizens, but under certain circumstances, they may act impulsively. For instance, it is common sense that speeding on the roads may result in grief consequences, however, when people are in a hurry, they may be tempted into overspeed driving. But with established speed limits, it is easier for them to curb the desire and drive safely. As for the potential criminals, since laws and regulations have stipulated the penalty, the severe punishment would probably deter them from commiting a crime.

In additon, throughout laws, governments are able to develop and support public serviecs. Naturally, people would be reluctant to give away part of their salary to invest in public services. But laws enforce individuals to pay taxes from their income, hence the government can avoid budget deficit and spend the expenditure on improving living standard. For example, such sectors as public healthcare, education, infrastructure need constant funding. This enables society to stay healthy and stable.

To sum up, rules and regulations are of overriding importance in any society. They are created for social security, not go against individual liberty. People can act freely as they want within the existing legal frameworks.