Nowadays many business meetings and training are happening online and not in real offices. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages in this matter?

With the recent advancements in technology, business meetings are mostly taking place online using softwares ranging from Skype to MeetingsPro rather than traditional face-to-face discussions. I think this trend has more advantages such as saving of precious time and money than disadvantages. (Opinion clearly stated using More X than Y construction.

Online business interaction is extremely useful in saving the time of team members and they can use this time for other important things. Earlier, employees used to spend most of their time traveling from one place to another for business meetings. With the advent of technology, they can save this time and use it for improving client satisfaction or operational efficiency. Moreover, use of technology for business meetings reduces the overall cost for companies. This curtails the cost of travel along with the money spent on building meeting rooms. For instance, Google has recently eliminated all space meant for meetings and the company has reported a 4 percent reduction in the cost of doing business merely because of this change.

On the other hand, this trend has a few disadvantages. Online meetings prevent members from developing a spirit of brotherhood and doing teamwork to achieve organizational goals. One corporate survey has revealed that through online meetings reduce the cost of doing business in the short term, it reduces revenue in the long term since the employees fail to work together to improve client satisfaction.

Conclusion:

In conclusion, despite several disadvantages of online meetings, I strongly believe that advantages are more prominent. If all business meetings are shifted from personal interaction, this will not only reduce the cost of doing business but also improve work efficiency.