Nowadays in many countries women have full time jobs. Therefore, it is logical to share household task evenly between men and women.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Women once rarely worked outside of the home in the past, so it was they who undertook almost all household responsibilities. However, as time changes, they now secure a full-time job in today’s society and probably work just as hard has their husbands do. This has led to a belief that housework should be evenly divided between the marriage partners. Although this proposition seems to be reasonable, it is problematic in certain common cases.

There are clearly several benefits to men sharing household chores with their wives equally. Family breakdown usually results in men refusing to do or unwilling to share housework with their spouses. Therefore, on a familial level, unnecessary quarrels over this matter can be avoided, thus stronger bonds within the family can be facilitated by such arrangement. Besides, on a societal level, gender equity would be enormously promoted when males in charge of 50% of the house tasks. Living in the modern community, there should be the existence of both sexes’ participation in nearly all facets, and housework sharing is not the exception. This argument sounds ostensibly convincing and mostly used by advocates of women’s rights.

Admirable as this suggestion may appear to be, it does not work in some situations. Consider this case as an example: a family where one has a longer and busier work routine than that of the other; an officer husband going on frequent business trips is often distant from home. It is likely that all household chores need undertaking by his wife. Similarly, if a doctor husband has to work significantly long hours, for instance, 14 hours a day in the hospital, then there is no way that his wife takes care of only half of the housework. In those circumstances, the idea of sharing chores in an equal fashion is actually unfair. The housework should otherwise be separated in accordance with each partner’s schedule instead of being rigidly half-split-per-person.

In conclusion, it may sound sensible that men share 50% of household chores with their wives; nevertheless, this view would pose some problems to the family in certain cases.