Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that nowadays more and more people prefer to be self-employed. There could be several reasons for this, and I believe that although it is more liberal for people to be self-employed, it could have some disadvantages that should be considered.

The development of technology makes distances no longer be the hinder of communication. For example, internet provides us chances to make connection with foreigners and work on remote. At the same time, companies tend to find supplies that are cheaper than the local, which can help them save the cost and gain more profit. Thus, we may be easier to find a global market than in the past, through which we have opportunities to be self-employed. Furthermore, people have more freedom to be self-employed than working for a company. They can strike a balance between work and life.

However, being self-employed also have some disadvantages that we should pay attention. Firstly, self-employed people are easier to face financial difficulties than who work for a company. Unlike employees who have regular salaries and do not need to worry about the operation of their company, self-employed people have difficulties finding customers and gain profit by themselves. Secondly, there are no benefits like pensions, sick pay and holiday day. They should pay the fees from their own pockets. While they have freedom to manage their own time, they would also be very busy and even cut off their leisure time if they have business to do. Finally, self-employment set a higher requirement of personal quality to self-employed people than employees. Self-employed people should have more intellectual, bravery and a sense of responsibility.

In conclusion, there are several reasons for self-employment, and I believe that self-employment do have some disadvantages and self-employed people should pay more attention on these challenges.