Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

It is undoubted that thanks to economic growth and society development, laborers have numerous choices for their workplaces. These days, while being employed in a company is considered as a common option, there is a fact that more and more people decide to devote either a part or even their entire working period for their own business. In my opinion, there are plenty of reasons for this trend; however, this phenomenon is also likely to bring many harmful impacts.

To begin with, entrepreneurship can be encouraged by a lot of reasons. One of the most noticeable explanations for this is that self-employment gives people the opportunity to maximize their job satisfaction as much as possible. Each organization has its own rules and behavior with which employees are required to comply; meanwhile, a number of those including salary, promotion and corporate culture factors may not satisfy workers’ expectations. In contrast, by working for themselves, people get their income depending on their own ability and have the right to decide how their business operates without being affected by their manager and co-workers. Besides, there is an argument that self-employed make people more mature since it is a good method to challenge themselves. This can be explained by the fact that self-employed laborers have to not only find a huge money to run their work, but also plan and be responsible for everything related to their business by themselves, whereas if they are employed by others, they just need to complete their tasks and will be paid a steady amount of wage monthly.

On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that self-employed can be negative in some ways. Firstly, multi-tasking must be an indispensable skill the entrepreneurs need to equip. They are forced to take responsibilities of different roles at the same time due to their limited budget. If they hire other people to perform these tasks, they must pay more tax and provide their employees with decent working conditions. Furthermore, self-employment can be considered as a waste if it goes bankrupt since the owner has to spend an enormous amount of time, capital and effort on their business without getting anything in return.

In conclusion, being self-employed is becoming more and more popular because of several reasons; however, it seems to me that this trend could have many adverse impacts.