Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this contemporary era, people choose to work as freelancers instead of joining any organization. This essay shall analyze why people are opting self-employment and will provide possible effects of it.

Needless to say, people choose to work as a freelancer because it provides a plethora of benefits. One of the integral and indispensable merits is that people are in their control and they do not need to obey any rules and restrictions which they might need to follow in any company. Self-employment provides freedom as there would not be any pressure from the boss to complete the tasks in a limited timeframe. Another potential advantage is that there are various online platforms available that allow people to work by their choices regardless of their qualifications, they just need to have clear visions and skills to complete the tasks. Conversely, in a company, in order to obtain the job, even though people have certain skills and experience, they have to meet up with the minimum academic qualification. For example, Upwork - an online platform which allows people to get freelancing work based on their abilities to complete the task rather than any qualification.

On the flip side of the argument, being self-employed can have some drawbacks as well. First and foremost, as people are working as freelancers, they mostly work from home which can lead to dearth of self-discipline and there are chances that they become couch-potato. Secondly, people have to be multitasking as they are not privileged to share their work with other teammates. Henceforth, they have to finish each and every thing by themselves. Sporadically, it might get exhausting because all the things need to be done by only one person which can lead to frustration and might affect mental peace. For example, A freelancing computer programmer has to finish the whole project from requirement gathering to deployment of the project without the help of anyone which can be frenetic for a person to tackle.

To conclude, it is conspicuous that instead of working in any organization, self-employment can provide abundant pros. However, it is an individual's perception when it comes to choosing between working in a company and to become self-employed.