Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Self-employment has become prevalent in the XXI century among people of all ages. I personally believe that flexible working hours as well as higher income compared to salaries given by companies and government organizations are the principal causes of this trend.

Many decide to be self-employed today since it is more convenient and profitable than working for an employer. Taxi drivers or tailors, for instance, do not need to rush to offices early in the morning and stay there until late evening. They do not ask permission from their managers to take a day-off and they can simply cancel all their plans to dedicate their time to family or friends. Apart from that, they do not have fixed salary and the amount of money they earn depends on the efforts they make. A cook who bakes cakes at home and sells them online tends to be richer than the one working for a restaurant. However, the pitfalls of self-employment are inevitable.

The risks of bankruptcy are relatively high among the self-employed and this often leads to stress. It is necessary to constantly compete with rivals and offer better service or products in order to avoid financial difficulties. Without innovative approach and proper marketing techniques it is highly likely to lose clients. If this happens in a company, employees are still provided with the same salary as usual, whereas people who have opted for self-employment may end up in serious debts. The latter become nervous in this case and regret that that they have chosen this path. Unfortunately, some of these experience heart attack or even commit suicide if their financial problems are not solved.

To conclude, self-employment may seem attractive, but the possibility of failure and the stressful lifestyle should not be overlooked if one wants to work for himself or herself.