Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Working in a big company usually brings a stable income, but many people nowadays tend to run their own companies and make money only for themselves instead of others. To be self-employed, however, can result in more risks.

Some senior students seeking for highly paid jobs choose to start their business after graduation. On one hand, university gives them freedom to balance their time and study. Therefore, they are more willing to have more control on their time in their work than to be restricted by rules in companies. And then they refuse the offer from well-known companies and they become the boss of their companies. On the other hand, under so much pressure from society and family, employees cannot earn enough money to purchase a house in cities and support other household expenses since the boss can get more money than them. For example, the salary of a boss is usually well over three times as much as their employee's. Thus, in order to get more money, starting their own business can be a good choice.

Nevertheless, to be self-employed might bring drawbacks as well. Firstly, there is a great possibility that most people will not gain money due to lack of experience. A successful company entails skillful workers, excellent management and a location which can attract numerous customers. But for a newbie, those requirements are not fulfilled. Secondly, the products from those small companies are not as competitive as those from famous companies. For instance, if a person owns a small western food restaurant, there is an excellent chance that there will be fewer customers in his restaurant than the big restaurants next to his due to the flavour. A profitable restaurant requires a special flavor. But the food in a new restaurant of a manager with little experience can be not competitive.

In conclusion, although to be the boss enables people to be free from the regulations of companies or organizations, this choice contains a lot of risks.