In most professions and academics fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Imagination enables us to enter an incredibly new world where we can assume that all difficult problems can be easily worked out. But when it comes to professions and academic fields, imagination is confined and based on knowledge one has already obtained. Without enough knowledge, imagination is absolutely untenable and unfounded. I believe we should attach more importance to knowledge than imagination.

I have to admit that imagination indeed contributes to the successful discovery. For example, a math problem may contain mathematic imagination. If one is able to work out that problem, the imagination of numbers and space really matter. However, in academic fields, a successful imagination springs from a good command of knowledge. It is the knowledge which is attained during continuous study that leads to the success. Also, in most professions, only imagination can never fully enhance the efficiency of working, and only when one proficiently masters the necessary knowledge can one realize the final goal.

Besides, some people may hold the view that granted that one has already owned the knowledge, it is imagination that finally actives the deadlock and results in innovation and inventions. They argue that the new break-up hinges on the crucial imagination and thus imagination is more important. But I have to say that they neglect a critical fact that imagination derives from the professional knowledge and the innovative ideas result from the interactions between two quite different subjects other than the imagination. For instance, scientists who devote themselves to the research on the moon utilize the two technologies, photograph and electronic communication, to get the clear pictures of the moon. They combine two tools together in order to evaluate the moon. Sometimes it is the combination other than random imagination that triggers the success.

In addition, while in paintings and movies, imagination determines the chance of succeeding, in this claim we are talking about the professional and academic fields. Academic fields differ extremely from arts in that in academic fields scientists pursue the reality while in arts, creative minds are the final goals for most artists. In professions, imagination only plays a role in finding the effective ways to solve the problems, while the success requires the knowledge of different subjects. Take a kind of sport for example. Running, seemingly simple, entails a lot of knowledge. A player who wants to win the competition in the Olympic Games in the running race needs to master the skills of adapting himself or herself to the pace. Can we safely draw a conclusion that imagination still can generate success in this example? Of course no. In most professions, imagination can be ignored when compared the professional knowledge.

In a nutshell, although imagination leads to innovative ideas sometimes, without knowledge to achieve the ideas, develop the ideas and overcome the difficulties when pursuing the ideas, it is unwise to claim that imagination is of more importance than knowledge. Especially in professions and academics, knowledge is the fundamental key to the success, the shortest way to the success, and the previous tool to find the new rules.