Nowadays men’s sports are given far more attention by society compared to women’s sports. What are the reasons for that? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Sports are widely seen in all parts of the world. However, most of the audience’s attention is devoted to men’s sports and relatively little is given to women’s sports. I think this is partly due to the patriarchal nature of our society and partly due to better marketing of the former.

Most human societies are male-dominated and, due to this, everyone loves watching men playing games. People prefer women as cheerleaders, commentators, hosts and audience in a game. However, they are not welcomed to play sports due to inherent bias for viewing males as sportspersons. Moreover, there are strong marketing campaigns run for men’s sports and the budget for female sports is relatively negligible. The Indian Premier League, which is a cricket match series for male players, received a marketing budget of more than 100 million in 2017. Women’s cricket team that won the world cup for India, on the other hand, went unnoticed as no marketing campaign was run to celebrate its achievement.

In think, this is a negative development since it makes women subordinate to men. They are expected to work for men and not compete with them. This attitude celebrates women as wives of famous players but they are not expected to achieve anything. Thus, the gender gap in a society is widened. Moreover, not giving equal value to women sports is economically harmful to a country. Women sports are a source of motivation for other women who perform non-sports activities. When a women’s team gains recognition, all women feel that they can achieve more. This improves the economic output of a country and makes it more prosperous.

In conclusion, women sports should be given the same importance that men’s sports get. This is important to reduce the gender gap. This will make a society socially stable and economically prosperous.