Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In recent years, parents’ decision to have offspring later in their life has become an increasingly popular trend. Resulting from a number of causes, this situation may have various considerable impacts on not only each family life but also the whole community.

There are several reasons why people refuse to give birth when they are young. Firstly, rather than embarking on parenthood, a variety of individuals consider that building their own successful careers is top-priority. If they split their time between working and rearing their offspring when they are at the early stage of their careers, their concentration upon their work might be negatively affected, which results in several difficulties in enhancing their job performance and getting promotion. Secondly, delaying childbirth could give young people countless opportunities to enjoy their lives. For example, this choice may let couples have more time to focus on improving their social lives and pursuing their passions. However, this tendency might result in a variety of negative effects on both family life and society. The first impact is that due to a widening generation gap between two age groups, child nurturing could be a huge challenge for older parents. Even though they have high socioeconomic status, as well as great experience and knowledge, it is not easy for them to communicate and understand their offspring. Furthermore, getting pregnant after 35 years old is potentially harmful to maternal and children’s health [6]. Specifically, this could increase the risk of untoward outcomes including stillbirth and miscarriage to older mothers, while their children might face the danger of getting Down's syndrome.

Consequently, this could negatively affect the quality of the workforce in times to come. In conclusion, there are a number of evident reasons for the trend in which people prefer having children late. As a result, this could negatively influence each family and all the society.