Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life.

What are the reasons?

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the recent world, there is a rising tendency that people opt to have children later in their life. This is the implication of elevated concentration on personal achievements in people's profession and desire for freedom. Some people might opine that this phenomenon poses a threat to the possibility of fertility; however, I believe the advantages far exceed that potential drawback.

The major rationale behind later parenthood is that people wish to seek professional accomplishments before having children. There are some beliefs that the younger a person is, the more likely they can succeed in their career path. This is true because youth gives people more opportunities to grow and explore novel prospects of their occupation; therefore, because of this motive, there is a greater possibility that the young commit themselves harder to pursuing their careers and promising life-long targets, resulting in postponing their parenthood. The situation is also coupled with the enjoyment of their youth. Younger generations hold the belief that they only live once and thereby they have the right to explore the world without any restriction of parenthood or children. Having children may present problems related to the decrease in their pastime and increased workload. The young, however, need more time for themselves, especially to gain new experiences, which means becoming parents will be a deterrent to their freedom.

Despite the abovementioned reasons, opponents of delayed parenthood contend that this situation can be a contributing factor to the lower rate of fertility. If parents make a decision of childbearing later in their life, they are likely to suffer from diseases related to the ability to have a child. This can be evidenced by the research from MIT which reported that the majority of women in their late 30s had to face the possibility of not having a child since their eggs were insufficient and even infertile for having children, let alone giving birth. Despite this disadvantage, I maintain that delaying parenthood is beneficial considering financial preparation for childbearing. Because the majority of young people have dedicated their youth to working, they may have a certain amount of saving money which can be utilized for their future parenthood. This can assist them in applying for parenting courses in order to gain more information about a child's care, nutrition for newborns, or how to overcome difficulties emerging while taking care of a child. Not only is this helpful for the young's parenting period, but also the child can take advantage of their parent's money, especially for a full development of both physical and intellectual aspects.

In conclusion, it is true that the younger generation tends to delay their parenthood considering their commitment to personal development and their desire to explore the world. Although this can open some certain disadvantages, one of which is the lower chance of fertility, I believe the benefit related to financial ability has a greater weight.