In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the ever-increasing demand for employment, more and more young people have a preference for vocational training rather than tertiary education. Although this phenomenon can indeed have certain benefits, the young are more likely to be exposed to potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, work-oriented training is beneficial for gaining skills available to certain jobs. The implication of this can be the handful of seasoned employers who align with current needs in the job market. That the young, who orient themselves towards this type of education, can pursue a job as soon as they graduate, not only contributes to the decreased unemployment rates but is also a springboard for young people in the career path. This can be exemplified that in Vietnam, the majority of vocational training students have job offers in offices or factories right after their graduation and nearly half of these workers become managers in the later phase of their professional path.

On the other hand, the young may be at a disadvantage if they do not pursue higher education. The reason for this is not only do universities offer specialized knowledge and information about certain majors, but they also provide a greater connection with people of similar interests. First, knowledge from tertiary institutions is not necessarily only theoretical but actually has been updated to include more practical applications. Therefore, the young can both obtain an in-depth understanding of their major subjects as well as put their lessons into practice. Second, having more friends and relationships allows students to connect and take advantage of their acquaintances whenever they need in the future. For example, if the young have a start-up project and need someone to help them with potential problems, those they can contact with few difficulties are their friends, especially those they have studied with at university.

In conclusion, although work-based training does have advantages, entailing a promising career perspective, young people who make their choice to enroll in university have more possibility to gain a deeper understanding of their major and have wider connections with people who have interests in common.