Nowadays, more and more women decide to have children later in their life. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In recent years, an increasing number of females choose not to give birth early in their life. This trend obviously has its own benefits and drawbacks.

To outline the advantages, the decision of later child bearing means that the mother could be financially stable. In other words, she would be debt free and able to pay her living expenses with extra money left over. For example, when waiting to have kids, a woman could totally concentrate on earning money because career is her top priority and the savings could sufficiently support her family when it comes to raising babies. An additional strength of having children later is that the mothers would be more experienced. For instance, a woman could spend years learning and gaining knowledge so that she could be confident and ready to give birth and to raise her children as well.

However, delaying parenthood is not completely beneficial, there are several negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. The most serious disadvantage of getting pregnant late is the higher chances of miscarriage. To illustrate, the risks of miscarriage and stillbirth increase in pregnant if the woman is in her late 30s. Several factors such as the quality of the eggs, age and biological restraints could lead to unwanted incident. Besides, late pregnancy could also put baby’s health at a greater risk. Specifically, as a woman grows older, many medical problems such as diabetes, obesity and high blood pressure start to creep in and affect both her health and her baby’s.

In conclusion, there are plus points to having children later in life regarding financial secure and profound knowledge. However, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of higher risks of miscarriage and health of the baby.