Many countries want to host international sports event, while other countries think that hosting sports events has more problems than benefits.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports have always been a form of entertainment and sports competitions are popular all over the world. However, when it comes to being a host country of an international sports event, there are considerable debate around the advantages and disadvantages. While I accept some obvious negative aspects of this trend, I firmly believed that these are outweighed by the benefits.

On the one hand, it is clear that hosting a global sports event would bring about several drawbacks. One evident weakness is that it would cost the host country a lot of money. For example, in order to prepare for the Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan has allocated a great proportion of national budget to the construction and maintenance. Another reason is that being a host country would attract more unwanted attention. To illustrate, some people would argue that the judges’ decisions were unfair or the native athletes cheated which is totally unfounded.

On the other hand, I argue that the negative aspects of this trend would prove to be more important. First, hosting an international sports competition would help promote a country culture to the world. For instance, the nation itself would become the center of attention and this could be the golden opportunity to enhance cultural promotion. Besides, the athletes of a host country could be mentally stable. To illustrate, they would not need to travel such long distance to compete or get distracted by estrange factors including environment, food, etc. Therefore, competitors of host country could be confident and focus on training and stand a good chance of winning.

To conclude, there are minus points to hosting an international sports event including a large amount required of money and unwanted attention. However, it seems to me that the benefits would be more significant regarding cultural promotion and mental stability of athletes.