Nowadays most green energy is becoming ever more prevalent in both developed and developing countries. Some argue they greatly reduce costs and are better for the environment, others believe they are a serious threat to energy security. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, there are many competing arguments about the effects of increasingly using renewable energy over the world. Some people claim that the trend is detrimental to the security of supplying energy on a global scale, while I believe that its advantages are more significant for both citizens and the environment.

On the one hand, there are several reasons to support the idea that environmentally friendly energy is less reliable for the energy demand of people. The main reason is that many green energy technologies depend on changeable and unpredictable phenomena such as wind, rain and cloud cover. Solar energy, for instance, depends on the frequency of sunlight at where the panels are placed, therefore, a few days of cloudy could result in a blackout if our main energy source is solar power. Otherwise, there would be not sufficient area for installing a field of solar panels or wind turbine farms in order to ensure energy for all activities of citizens in a region, resulting in a lower limit of power generated compared to other kinds of energy.

On the other hand, in my opinion, the benefits of renewable energy could offset the drawbacks above. Firstly, the sources of green energy, including sunlight, wind, water and so forth, are infinite. Using those kinds of energy could save a large sum of looking out for new sources of fossil fuel. Secondly, alternative energy also generates almost no harmful chemical wastes and emissions, such as carbon dioxide, in the production processes. Therefore, reducing environmental pollution as well as improving human health in the long run.

In conclusion, although green energy is a threat to energy security, I believe that this type of energy could greatly mitigate the costs and is much better for our environment.