Nowadays most people learn academic study at university, but others think we should encourage to learn vocational skills more, do you agree or disagree?

Education is a main priority of the most country in the word receiving great attention from ordinary people to government leaders. One of those concerns is that the majority of people just put emphasis on academic study and ignore vocational skills. I fully agree with this view, in my opinion, technical training and academic education should be developed in parallel.

Clearly, many high school graduates choose to pursue university education instead of vocational training, regardless of whether or not their personal ability is appropriate. This is especially true in the context of Vietnamese society. To exemplify this point, the annual number of graduate students from high schools usually remains at one million, of which more than seventy percent continue to enroll in universities, according to the Ministry of Education and training. Meanwhile, this figure in developed countries is only fifty percent. With the aforementioned irrationality in the distribution of human resources, Vietnam would face many negative outcomes in terms of economic and social.

The visible consequence is that the status of “too many chiefs and not enough Indians” commonly in many occupations such as shortage of engineers and high-skilled workers in the electronics industry. Another salient example of this is in the education sector where a lot of teachers redundant compared with the actual demand, especially in primary schools. This has let the fact that school administrators have not recruited more people for years, even encouraging their staffs to retire early. Hence, the unemployment rate has risen sharply in recent years, most of which are from graduates of pedagogical universities. After all, young people would be the most disadvantaged by the unintended career choice, in other words by the bias of adults for vocational work.

In conclusion, I believe that the vocational skills should be encourage training more. At least it can help the young person find job more and more in line with their capabilities.