Nowadays most people wear western clothes rather than their traditional clothes. What are the reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, we have seen a considerable rise in the number people who choose to wear western clothes instead of the traditional one. There are various reasons for this, and I consider it to be a positive trend.

There are several reasons why many people are likely to select modern clothing as part of daily life. Firstly, they provide a sense of comfort for people who dress them. For example, sportspeople who play tennis often wear shorts, shirt, and training shoes, and therefore can easily move during competition time. Secondly, a rich variety of modern style and affordable prices allow customers to have many options. They are able to wear them either in work or social contexts, while traditional clothes just wear on some special occasions.

In my view, the changes described above should be seen as progress. Nowadays, more and more people wear western clothing may contribute greatly to the fashion industry. In doing so, a healthy economy can result in job creation and a high level of employment in textile manufacturing. Another positive is that the introduction of western clothes may enhance the values of traditional dress. For instance, Vietnamese white-collar workers often wear suits and skirts in the workplace, while they just wear Aodai in some important days. Aodai is the most well-known all over the world and becomes Vietnam’s symbol.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are could be several reasons why the western dress is more popular in the world, and I believe that these developments are desirable.