Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

For many years, the majority of students do not opt to study science subjects such as mathematics, chemistry, biology in universities in many countries. This essay will discuss two main reasons why they make that choice including the complexity of the subjects themselves and the quality of education in local institutions. It will also suggest two consequences that have appeared and have influenced the public like the lack of labor force in industrial areas and the excess of lawyers, businessmen, and managers.

Science is an interesting world, however, for the vast of scholars it is way harder than other subjects and the opportunities in local colleges are incomparable with the foreign universities. First of all, every science subject has some plenty of abstract formulas, theories and postulates that are challenging to memorize and for that people should have well- developed critical thinking skills. Only about 30 percent of all students have A on physics exam so that shows not every person has mathematical thinking. Secondly, in many developing countries the number of accredited research institutions is small than in developed countries which affect the quality of the knowledge. Even if you ask a random person from Kazakhstan, why does not he apply for science, he will probably reply that the level of education in local universities is not the same as in overseas. This often results in choosing business as opposed science subjects because they do not fully understand topics and believe the professors have limited knowledge in the science sphere.

What is the real impact of their choice on society? Nowadays, in many countries this situation has been observed: because of the shortfall of scientists or engineers and redundant jobs in other fields could lead to an imbalance in the job market. For example, a recent poll by the UK government found that 70% of the people who want to study linguistics and lawyers, and 30% for the rest tended to choose careers related to science. Therefore, this could have a serious influence on the sustainable development of many nations in the world.

In conclusion, in recent years, we have seen an alarming increase in students who do not decide on studying science education such as mathematics, physics, and chemistry. This essay has analyzed several reasons for this tendency and how it effects on society.