Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

Over the last few years, many universities around the world have witnessed glaring inadequacy of students choosing subjects in science. This trend is heralded as the result of some educational problems and might take a toll on society in the long run.

Regarding the cause of this problem, drawbacks in educational systems of many countries are what to blame. First, by cramping too much unnecessary knowledge of science, high schools and universities are inadvertently fading the enthusiasm students have for science subjects. For example, had my math teacher in high school not intimidated us with daily stiff exams demanding a wide range of knowledge, more classmates of mine would have opted to study more subjects related to science in university. Second, since there is little time allocated for science exploration instead of mere knowledge, students are less motivated to choose these subjects to study. In fact, such curricula can cultivate fruitlessness of studying science in students’ mind, resulting in less and fewer university students taking science courses.

The dwindling popularity of science subjects in university can result in many consequences in terms of the advancement of humankind. First, since fewer students enrolling in science courses means less workforce equipped with fundamental knowledge of this important field. As a result, other sectors such as technology, education or even public health, whose development depends heavily on science will inevitably experience a slowdown. In addition, imbalance of the workforce would also be an unavoidable outcome of this practice. In fact, science-related jobs will appear inevitable to most people, increasing competitiveness amongst other non-related ones.

In conclusion, the ineffectiveness of teaching methods in both high schools and universities largely contributes to the decrease of university students studying science subjects, producing negative effects on developments of societies.