Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. Why? Effects on society?

In this day, there are some students don’t choosing science subjects in many universities in many countries. This essay will examine both sides of the argument before conclusion is drawn and give the reason.

Admittedly, there are some arguments in favor of not choose science subjects at school. First, government subsidies higher education are believed to equalize educational opportunities among young adolescent and everyone can choose any subject they want regardless of their background. This chooses support, presumably, tends not only to increase the overall college enrollment rate of young people but also to mitigate their feeling of inferiority when they not good at science subjects, which eventually promotes an egalitarian society. Furthermore, nowadays, students thought that science is a theory with little practice, so they feel bored. Especially, in my country is Vietnam, students just need to remember everything in book. Second, not enough students choose science subject would probably result in a greater supply of highly qualified workers when they can studying their favorite subjects, which benefits society in the long run. In fact, it is acknowledged that skilled and knowledgeable human capital is imperative to foster economic growth and technological development in any nations.

Nevertheless, the resultant problem would be far more significant than the minor benefits once university education don’t have enough students choose science subjects. First, all students turn away from science subjects would likely correspond with a tremendous financial strain on a country. Generating no income from courses and fees, universities could become over- reliant on the state budget, meaning that there would be less input to develop other important areas such as healthcare system and transport infrastructure. Second, students not choose science subjects would tempt many problem including prestigious universities are undervalued or there are too few conditions to create many jobs related to this subject, thereby, adding great burdens for university admissions and enrollment staff and potentially wasting Tim that these young people could have spent pursuing more suitable career paths. It, instead, there would be a more choose viable option if the resources were focused on supporting scholarship or study abroad for less privileged yet gifted students.

In conclusion, there are some advantages but in my perspective, this choosing would given many disavowed and bad effect on society.