Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

Currently, science subjects are an unpopular option for many students all over the world. There are several causes of this phenomenon and effects that it may pose in society which I will elaborate below.

In this era, it is believed that science are seen as difficult courses where students are pushed to learn about numeric, critical thinking, data analyzing as well. As a result, students tend to choose the easier lessons such as business, economics, and administration. Moreover, another thing that makes students prefer to choose other fields is the occupation opportunity which is limited in the workplace. For instance, several companies and institutions in Indonesia require huge amounts of employees with social academic backgrounds, especially for business and economy majors. Therefore, there is a scarcity of science graduates due to the student's preference for selecting courses that are prospective for the future.

Talking about the lack of science resources is always showing relevancy with the public services sector. For example, the health service sector demands a large number of workers with a science background. However, the lack of resources will ironically impact the health delivery service to the society. The figures of medical employees will be declined and this may affect the country’s health service in the forthcoming era.

To conclude, the difficulty and limited work opportunity of the science field encourages students to choose another subject which contributes to the decrease of science students. The fact caused implications for society services for the country due to the lack of science resources.