Nowadays people care more about their appearance than before. Do you agree?

People these days seem to be much obsessed with their looking more than they were before since the first and foremost thing we do when we first meet someone is paying attention and giving judgment about his or her appearance. However, I just partially agree with this idea because of some reasons.

First, I agree that we now care more about our image than ever before. In fact, along with the blooming era of social networking sites, thousands of videos, full of beautiful girls and handsome, charming boys, are uploaded into the SNS every second, greatly force us to imitate, try our best to get perfect looking. Believe it or not, I would love to say that the reason why we are getting obsessed with gorgeous appearance is the underlying jealousy from the bottom of our heart. Another reason is that in most Asian countries, it is widely believed that appearance, including even postures, gestures and fashion styles, is able to show someone’s personalities. For example, if a person is well-dressed, it makes them become more attractive and set a good impression on others, or a positive lifestyle can grab more attention. Because the first view about individuals by estimating appearance can greatly impact on the career or a personal life path, people’s exaggerating how they look is understandable.

However, I still believe that appearance is just a part of our success. They are our talents, working and social experiences that decide our life, our future. There are still prominent leaders setting their vast influence on various aspects despite their not really good looking; for example, the founder of China’s biggest trading website, Jack Ma, does not have a breath-taking looking, but he is still a giant idol of million businessmen. And even though the first impression based on appearance is vital, it cannot help us to get a promotion if we cannot prove our working productivity. That is the reason why there are millions of beautiful, attractive people but just some of them are able to be famous.

Briefly, there would be both support and against opinions to my idea, but when it comes to whether the appearance is important or not, I would love to say that it is a rudimental factor that affects our first impression, but it is just a minor thing that contributes to our further success.