Nowadays people depend on technology for leisure activities. Is this a positive or

negative development?

In recent years, an upward trend in the use of electronic devices in free time can be seen throughout the world. Although it lessens the need for unwanted expenses as well as stimulates the growth of the economy, a huge threat is brought to not only the user’s lifestyle but also to their personal information.

It is undeniable the merits of using electronic devices may bring to modern society these days when it comes to entertainment. Firstly, it greatly reduces the extra fees to spend on our leisure activities. With just a portable smartphone or laptop, you are given access to thousands of forms of entertainment, from watching a football match on the other side of the continent to listening to the music of famous singers for free without going to a concert. In other words, you can enjoy everything you want at home while lowering the expenditure of these activities. Secondly, with the sharp increase in the use of technology for free time activities, people tend to spend more on high-tech devices for entertainment, with virtual reality glasses, Playstation 5 can be set as an example of this phenomenon. In addition to the affordable price, the amenities that it brings to us contribute greatly to the spending of people around the world and help foster economic growth.

However, we can’t deny the negative effects it may bring to us. First, the increasing time in the use of electronic devices will prevent us from participating in essential outdoor activities which will not only increase the rate of obesity and other diseases but also make our social skills dull. An alarming increase rate of obesity can be seen around the world due to the lack of exercise and outdoor activities, which is caused majorly by the addiction to playing games or watching films. Furthermore, people may be attacked in the online environment by cyber crimes. These criminals will take advantage of the hole in the security of your computers and steal away valuable information of yours, for instance, the number of credit cards, email addresses, and so on. Which will lead to horrible consequences in the loss of money or even put the life of the victims in danger.

In conclusion, despite the economic advantages it brings to one person and the economy of the world, we still need to keep an eye on the negative it may bring to one person’s lifestyle and internet safety.