Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In today’s world, it is widely perceived that a great amount of food bought from shops and restaurants is being thrown away irresponsibly. This phenomenon could be attributed to a number of contributory factors, but several approaches could be adopted to tackle it.

There are numerous reasons why foodstuffs are being tossed into the garbage, one of which is the promotion campaigns by retailers. More specifically, with the aim of alleviating the food inventory issue such as perishable produce or foods that have short shelf lives, promotion campaigns such as “buy one get one free” or “two for the price of one” have been implemented to lure customers. At the same time, consumers with the mentality of desiring inexpensive possessions are likely to be trapped, which would therefore lead to impulse purchase. Another justification is overstocking. To be more specific, should buyers not make a detailed plan of what they are going to buy before shopping, their shopping carts might be full of unusable food products.

In order to combat the above - mentioned problems, the authorities should place emphasis on the following elements. First and foremost, consumers should raise their awareness before buying in a bulk. This could be done by imposing a heavy fine on both buyers who squander and jettison food products. Another feasible measure would be for the state to compose a shopping list and stick to it. In other words, consumers have the opportunity to decide wisely what foodstuffs should be bought, which would in turn prevent a plethora of food from ending up as waste.

In sum, various actions can be taken to resolve the problems that are certain to arise as food bought from the retail shops ends up in the landfill sites.