Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

Nowadays, a lot of food that is purchased from stores and restaurants is wasted. This essay will discuss why people waste food and some solutions to help reduce the amount of food wasted.

There are a lot of reasons why people usually jettison food products. In the 4.0 technology era, agricultural technology is increasingly advanced thanks to modern machinery. This makes feed production simpler and less expensive, thus resulting in lower feed prices. This is also the main reason why consumers prefer cheap food, allowing them to buy more and throw more food away. The second reason is that consumers have not planned in detail about what they really need to buy. When people go to the grocery store or supermarket without a clear plan on what to buy, they may end up buying more than they planned because those foods are on sale. This leads consumers to buy things that are really unnecessary and wasteful.

There are several solutions to help reduce the amount of food discarded. The first solution is that restaurants should impose fines on diners who order a lot of food but don't eat it all. That is because money-related penalties are often the strongest deterrent. More specifically, this solution will help people when going to the restaurant to consider the number of dishes they order as well as avoid wasting food by ordering too much. Another feasible solution is that people should develop a habit of making a list of ingredients and foodstuffs that they really need before going shopping. It means that this solution gives consumers time to carefully prepare and make informed decisions about which food items to buy, and this will also prevent large amounts of food from being thrown away.

In conclusion, there are a range of objective as well as subjective reasons leading to disposing of food items when buying at stores and restaurants, and there are also numerous solutions to overcome this situation.