Nowadays shopping has become a new favourite pastime for young people. What are the reasons for this? Should they be encouraged to develop other hobbies? How?

These days, people have shown an ever-rising interest in shopping as a fresh leisure pursuit throughout societies, particularly among teenagers. There are several factors involved and reason to provoke them to adopt new leisure interests.

The prevailing reason that why the youth have been inclined toward shopping is mainly due to the advances in technology. They perhaps have maintained a growing interest in digital accessories such as trendy cellphones, portable gadgets, laptops and audio-visual multimedia, where are extensively available in shops. Therefore, they go to the shopping centers to be not only well-informed about fresh pieces of equipment but also indulging themselves of sightseeing shops for the leading-edge tools. The second underlying rational behind that would appear be the thriving centers and malls, where people can both purchase their needs and indulge themselves in the public and lifestyle amenities located in the markets. For example, there is a pupular hypermarket in Shiraz which adolescents spend their nightlifes on either shopping-related activities or in pastime amenities like posh cafeterias and classy restaurants, making them to be taking the advances of popular facilities.

On the other hand, it seems to be wise that juveniles should perhaps pursue the other desirable activities like water activities. This will probably not only curb the amount of junk food consumption in the city center but also boost their general health. Furthermore, such historical and cultural spots might be the other available options for juveniles , making them to possibly become aware of their country, and with a higher sense of responsibility and patriotic sentiments .

Overall, It appears that the increasing tendency on shopping among youngesters as a form of leisure pursuit has been mainly due to the technology development and popular shopping centers . However, if they display interests on other activities related to water sports and cultural and historical gathering points, it will potentially affect their health and public attitudes.