Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal quanlities when they look for new employees?

Why is in this case? Is it positive or negative?

It is true that jobseekers often pay more attention to choose candidates who have the degree of profesional knowledge than ones with personality traits and life skills. While this trend is ascribed to some factors, I would contend that this policy is totally disadvantageous.

There are two compelling reasons as to why some recruiters favour academic knowledge over work experience or individual qualtities during recruitement processes. From the perspective of economic, employers may save a considerable amount of money on training academic-related knowledge for new staffs. These recruters, as a consequence, may have more capital to invest in other key sectors such as replacing current equipments by ones applied the cutting-edge technology to insrease in work efficient. Furthermore, many jobseekers believe that candidates having a high level of academic achievement can have higher job productivity than those without any qualifications. This is because if people hold a degree, they often have profound knowledge of their field.

However, I am firmly convinced that the thought of recruiters about the less importance of life experience and personal qualities than formal academic knowledge is negaive. In terms of businesses, this trend may be the main culprit of devastating their comprehensive development. A clear explanation is that employers may overlook the applications of potential employees whose professional qualities are not reflected by a degree. Regarding candidates, despite the scarcity of academic knowledge, they can have other essential working skills such as leadership, communication or teamwork. They, as a result, do not have equal access to job opportunities.

To sum up, the priority of formal academic qualifications over life experience and personal characteristics in the recruitment processes derives from some factors, including saving money for training new staffs. In addition, I would argue that this activity is associated with some drawbacks such as producing a negative impact on the holistic development of companies or unfair among appliants seeking their jobs.